Yongxin Tao (Yong Tao)
 Title: Int Chr & BLG Endowed Prof
 Dept: Mechanical Engineering
 Office: FH 104
 Phone: 216-687-4662,  2166874662
 Fax: 2166875375
 Email: y.tao19@csuohio.edu
 Address: 2121 Euclid Ave. FH 104, Cleveland, OH 44115

Courses Taught

Faculty Only:
Update Profile

Ph.D., Mechanical Engineering, University of Michigan, 1989
M.S., Mechanical Engineering, Tongji University, 1981
B.S., Mechanical Engineering, Tongji University, 1978
Brief Bio:
Prior to joining CSU, Dr. Yong X. Tao was Professor of Engineering and founding dean of College of Engineering & Computing at Nova Southeastern University. He is instrumental in fast growing the first engineering program at NSU and fostering interdisciplinary education and research from hardware, software to management while maintaining its legacy in computer and information sciences graduate education.

Prior to joining NSU, Dr. Tao was with University of North Texas (UNT), as the chair of Mechanical & Energy Engineering, Endowed Professor, Distinguished Research Professor, founding director of PACCAR Technology Institute and Zero Energy Research Lab. He was responsible for tremendous growth of new B.S. and new Ph.D. programs, and research profile.

Prior to joining UNT, he was the Associate Dean of the College of Engineering & Computing at Florida International University and a Professor of Mechanical & Materials Engineering. He was also director of two research labs. In 2005, he was the faculty leader of the award-winning Solar Decathlon entry. During 2008 International Olympics, he served as Project Director of the American House, as playing a vital role in building better international collaboration ┬┐in the area of energy-efficient buildings┬┐ (U.S. Secretaries of Commence and Energy.)

Dr. Tao is an accomplished scholar in thermal/fluids sciences, renewable energy & energy efficiency in buildings. He has produced over 175 technical publications. His research has attracted more than $19.3M funding from the US federal agencies and industries, including multidisciplinary research network projects & leading researchers from numerous universities. He is a fellow of ASME, past chair of ASME Heat Transfer Division, senior vice president and founding board director of American Society of Thermal & Fluids Engineers, editor in chief of Heat Transfer Research and a licensed Professional Engineer. He received his Ph.D. from University of Michigan.